How Do I?

  • How soon after I purchase my new car do I need to get a tag?

    For Mississippi residents, the vehicle must be registered within 7 working days of the date of purchase.

    Back to Top
  • If I move to Mississippi, how long do I have before I have to get a Mississippi tag?

    Persons moving to Mississippi have 30 days in which to register their vehicles with Mississippi.

    Back to Top
  • How much will my car tag cost?

    In Mississippi, you pay privilege tax, registration fees, ad valorem taxes and possibly sales or use tax when you tag your vehicle.  Registration fees are $8.75 for renewals and $10.00 for first time registrations.  All of the other taxes are based on what type of vehicle, the value of the vehicle and where you register the vehicle.  The best answer is the contact your local tax collector.

    Back to Top
  • Where do I register my vehicle?

    For motor vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) of 10,000 lbs or less, register their vehicles and receive their tags from the local county tax collector's office where the vehicle is garaged or domiciled.  For motor vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) of over 10,000 lbs and which travels in Mississippi only, register in the local county tax collector's office and receive their tags from the State Office.

    Back to Top
  • Does Mississippi have a temporary tag for passenger vehicles or drive out tags?

    Mississippi does have a temporary drive out tag which can be purchased from the dealer who sold the car.  The tag is valid for 7 working days from the date of purchase.

    Back to Top
  • Can I get a refund on my tag if I move out of Mississippi?

    Mississippi law does not provide for refunds when an individual moves.

    Back to Top
  • Can I get a refund on my tag if I sell my car?

    Mississippi law does not provide for a cash refund when a vehicle is sold, but does provide for a credit to be used against the purchase of another tag.

    Back to Top
  • What are land records?

    Land records refer to those documents filed in the Chancery Clerk’s office that involve real estate. The office of the chancery clerk is responsible for filing and maintaining public land records for land in the county in which the office is located. Public land records consist of various indexes which direct the user to the specific locations of recorded copies (either paper copies or electronically stored media) of deeds, deeds of trust, oil & gas leases, mineral and royalty deeds, assignments, powers of attorney, federal tax liens, lis pendens notices, construction liens, ucc’s and other documents affecting the title to land.

    Back to Top
  • Are land records open to the public?

    Yes, land records are available for public inspection at the Chancery Clerk's office from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday.

    Back to Top
  • How do I obtain copies of land records?

    The fee for copies made by the public is $0.25 per page. The fee for copies made by our staff is $0.50 per page. There is an additional fee of $1.00 for certifying a copy of a document.

    Back to Top
  • Are your deeds available online?

    No.

    Back to Top
  • Does the Chancery Clerks office have blank forms for deeds, deeds of trust, etc?

    No.

    Back to Top
  • What are the requirements that must be met for a document to be recorded?

    There are different requirements depending on the type of document, so they cannot be listed here.

    It is the responsibility of the person offering the document for recording to make sure (1) that the document is original, (2) that it is signed and that the signatures are properly acknowledged before a notary public, (3) that the document is a complete writing and contains the required information, (4) that it is accompanied by the proper fees, and (5) that it is accompanied by a stamped self-addressed envelope so that it can be returned to the party offering it for recordation.

    The document does have to have the names, addresses and phone numbers of the grantor, grantee and the preparer.

    The Clerk’s staff cannot give any legal advice. Those seeking to record a document in the Clerk’s office are encouraged to obtain the services of a professional.

    Back to Top
  • When are documents recorded?

    Documents are recorded at the time we receive them. They are available for viewing by the public, by the next day.

    Back to Top
  • What are the proper filing fees?

    See “LAND RECORDS FILING FEES”, found on this web site.

    Back to Top
  • I am purchasing property in Amite County. Should I have the title checked by an attorney?

    Yes. Our office strongly recommends that a title search be done by an attorney before real estate is purchased. A search of the records of the Chancery Clerk’s Office, the Circuit Clerk’s Office, and the Tax Assessor’s Office, should determine any outstanding mortgages, taxes, or other liens and whether or not the seller has legal title to the property. An attorney can do the title search and prepare your deed. It is illegal for the Chancery Clerk’s Office to provide any legal advice, including the preparation of your deed.

    Back to Top
  • What does the Clerk’s Office accept in payment of recording fees?

    If a check for recording fees is short, the document will be returned with a request for the proper filing fee.

    Back to Top
  • What happens when my land is sold for taxes and what can I do about it?

    If your property taxes are not paid by the first Monday in April, then the Tax Assessor/Collector auctions it off to the highest bidder at the Tax Sale, held here at the Courthouse on that day. If no bids are received, then it is stricken off to the State. It then becomes the duty of the Chancery Clerk to collect all delinquent years’ taxes, with the appropriate penalties and interest, before the current year’s taxes can be paid. No installments on delinquent taxes are accepted.

    Individuals have two (2) years from the date of the tax sale to redeem their property in the Chancery Clerk’s Office. If not redeemed before the two (2) years are up, then it matures to the State, or if an individual purchased it at the Tax Sale, it matures to that individual, who becomes entitled to a Tax Deed, which means you no longer own the property.

    Back to Top
  • If my property sold for taxes, how do I find out how much I owe?

    Call or stop by the Chancery Clerk’s Office.

    Back to Top
  • Can the Chancery Clerk’s Office tell me whether or not I own the mineral rights under my land?

    No. Unlike the land roll, which provides for the current ownership of the surface, there is no listing of mineral right owners. An attorney or petroleum landman should be consulted.

    Back to Top
  • How do I get a copy of my DD-214 Discharge Certificate?

    If your discharge was filed in the Chancery Clerk’s Office, then a copy can be made here for you. However, if it was not filed here, you must see the County Veterans Service Officer.

    Back to Top
  • When I sell my car, do I keep the tag / license plate?

    Yes. You may also be eligible for a credit against future taxes. If the tag has not expired, take the tag and your original receipt to the tax collector for a credit voucher.

    Back to Top
  • Where do I buy a car tag / license plate?

    Car and truck tags are issued by the Tax Collector. You have 7 working days from the date of purchase to register your vehicle. New residents moving from another state have 30 hays to obtain a new plate. It is helpful to bring your automobile registration and/or title. New residents from another county in Mississippi can wait until their next renewal to change plates. Tags are usually valid for a period of one year from the date they are issued.

    Back to Top
  • How do I file for homestead exemption?

    Visit the Tax Collector's office between January 2 and April 1.

    Back to Top
  • Do I need a license or a permit to open a business?

    Yes. If the business is located inside the city limits, a license will be issued by the city. If the business is outside of the city limits and inside the county, the county Tax Collector will issue your license.

    Back to Top
  • How do I vote absentee?

    You can request a ballot up to 45 days in advance through the mail, or you can visit the Circuit Clerk's office.

    Back to Top
  • How do I obtain a marriage license?

    The Circuit Clerk's office issues marriage licenses. You must bring a blood test receipt dated within the last 30 days, a picture id, and if you are under 21, you must obtain your parent's signature on the registration form.

    Back to Top
  • How do I register to vote?

    In order to register, go to the Circuit Clerk's office. It is helpful to know your 911 address and social security number. The minimum voting age is 18. You must register at least 30 days prior to any election to be entitled to vote in that election.

    Back to Top
  • How do I obtain a passport?

    You can visit the Circuit Clerk's office and bring 2 passport photos, a birth certificate with a seal, and a picture id. It takes about six weeks to receive your passport.

    Back to Top
  • How do I ask questions about jury duty?

    You should call the Circuit Clerk's office.

    Back to Top
  • Where do I file a land deed?

    Land deeds are filed in the Chancery Clerk's office.

    Back to Top
  • How do I obtain a 911 address?

    Your 911 address is assigned through the Chancery Clerk's office. It is helpful to know your nearest street's name and your nearest neighbors.

    Back to Top
  • What if a check for the recording fees is not correct?

    If a check for recording fees is short, the document will be returned with a request for the proper filing fee.

    Back to Top